When is it and how to watch it on TV

Antoine Dupont of France during the match with Australia at Stade de France on August 27, 2023
France Captain Antoine Dupont in action during the 41-17 warm-up win Australia In Paris – Getty Images / Christian Leweig

France will face the candidate host New Zealand In the most eagerly anticipated The opening match of the Rugby World Cup all times.

The encounter in Group A will be the eighth time the two teams have met in a World Cup – a record – with the All Blacks winning five times, while France have won twice.

New Zealand are the most decorated team in the World Cup with three titles and one runner-up, while the French have never won the title and share second place (with England) runner-up, having lost in the final three times (twice to New Zealand).

France are the second favorites this year and will be desperate to break their home duck. Their group also includes Italy, Uruguay and Namibia.

Find out the latest team news, including France’s starting line-up, by scrolling down or by clicking here.

when is it?

France will play New Zealand on Friday 8 September, with the match starting at 8.15pm GMT (9.15pm local time).

where is she?

In the legendary Stade de France, which was built for the 1998 FIFA World Cup, which was memorably won by the hosts, and also became the home of the national rugby team. It has hosted 97 men’s test matches, including the 2007 World Cup final and the quarter-final in 1999.

Stade de France will host 10 matches at RWC 2023, including the semi-finals, the ‘bronze final’ and the final.

A general view of the Stade de France on March 19, 2022

The Stade de France is located in Saint-Denis, just outside Paris – Getty Images/ Franck Fife

Who is the referee?

Jaco Bieber from South Africa will be the man in chargewith English duo Carl Dixon and Christophe Ridley as his assistants, and another Englishman, Tom Foley, as TV match official.

How do you watch on TV

ITV has exclusive broadcasting rights To show the Rugby World Cup in the UK. Coverage of the opening match will be on ITV1 from 6.45pm. Fans can also watch on the ITVX app.

Radio commentary will only be available on the BBC, Radio 5 Live, 5 Sports Extra and BBC Sounds. The BBC says there will be “dedicated outputs” in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

What is the recent history between the two teams?

In the past five encounters, dating back to November 2017, New Zealand have won four times, with just one win for the French. New Zealand humiliated hosts 38-18 in Paris six years ago, then completed a 3-0 sweep at the Tour de France in June 2018, but lost 40-25 in the French capital in 2021 – the French side’s first win over the country. blacks at 12 years old.

What is the latest team news?

France and New Zealand will both be without their first-choice spots when the most anticipated opening match in World Cup history kicks off tomorrow night.

Midfielder Jonathan Dante failed his late fitness to start against the All Blacks at the Stade de France, while Jordi Barrett was also ruled out with a knee injury.

France XV: T Ramos; D Penaud, G Fickou, Y Moefana, G Villière; M Jalibert, Dupont (C); Wardi R, Marchand J, Tonoio, C. Woki, T. Flament, F. Cross, Olivon C, Aldrete J.
Substitutions: P Mauvaka, JB Gros, D Aldegheri, R Taofifenua, P Boudehent, M Lucu, A Vincent, M Jaminet.

New Zealand XV: P Barrett; W Jordan, R Ewan, Leinert Braun M Thelia; R Monga, Smith; ED Groot, C. Taylor, N. Lula; S Barrett, S Whitelock; D Papalii, S Cane (captcha), A Savea.
Substitutions: S Taukei’aho, O Tu’ungafasi, F Newell, T Vaa’i, L Jacobson, F Christie, D Havili, L Fainga’anuku.

Who is in the France-New Zealand squad?

France World Cup squad

Attackers: Dorian Deghiri, Gregory Aldrete, Owini Atouniou, Cyril Bailey, Paul Bodhint, Pierre Bourgaret, François Crouse, Sibele Vallatia, Thibaut Flament, Jean-Baptiste Gros, Anthony Gilonche, Siko Makalu, Julien Marchand, Beto Mufaka, Charles Olivon, Romain Taufivenoa, Reda Pink, Paul Willems, Cameron Wookey.
Backs: Louis Belle-Billard, Baptiste Quilaud, Jonathan Dante, Antoine Dupont (captain), Gael Fico, Antoine Hastoy, Mathieu Jalibert, Melvin Jamenet, Maxime Loko, Yoram Moifana, Damien Benaud, Thomas Ramos, Gabin Villiers, Arthur Vincent.

New Zealand World Cup squad

Attackers: Dane Coles, Samisoni Takeyaho, Cody Taylor, Ethan De Groot, Nebu Lulala, Terrell Lomax, Fletcher Newell, Ofa Tongavasi, Tamiti Williams, Scott Barrett, Brody Retalik, Topo Faye, Sam Whitlock, Sam Kane (Captain), Shannon Frisell, Dalton Papali, Luke Jacobson, RD Savea.
Backs: Finlay Christie, Cam Roegard, Aaron Smith, Bowden Barrett, Damien Mackenzie, Richie Monga, Jordie Barrett, David Haveli, Riku Iwani, Anton Leinert-Brown, Caleb Clark, Lester Vainganoko, Emoni Narawa, Mark Tilea, Will Jordan. .

Expand your horizons with award-winning British journalism. Try The Telegraph for free for one month, then enjoy one year for just $9 with our exclusive US offer.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top