Everything to know about the 2023 Walker Cup at St. Andrews

It’s time for one of the biggest men’s amateur competitions in the world, the Walker Cup.

The 49th Walker Cup is set for 2.-3. September at the Old Course in St. Andrews. The Walker Cup is a 10-man amateur team competition between the United States and Great Britain and Ireland. The Old Course has hosted eight previous Walker Cups, more than any other venue, most recently in 1975 when the USA defeated GB&I 15½-8½.

USA leads the all-time series over GB&I, 38-9-1.

That USA’s 10-man roster is featured by world No. 1 Gordon Sargent and American amateur winner Nick Dunlap.

Here’s everything you need to know for the 2023 Walker Cup.

Course details

2022 Alfred Dunhill Links
A general view of the 1st and 18th holes with The R&A Clubhouse during a practice round ahead of the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship at the Old Course St. Andrews on 27 September 2022 in St Andrews, Scotland. (Photo by Oisin Keniry/Getty Images)

Meeting point: Old Course at St. Andrews

Opened: 15th century

Architect: Original architect unknown (renovations by Daw Anderson in 1850s; Old Tom Morris 1865-1908)

Yardage: 7,297 yards, par 72

Team facts

Walker Cup 2021

A United States Walker Cup team bag during a practice day prior to The Walker Cup at Seminole Golf Club on May 7, 2021 in Juno Beach, Florida. (Photo by Cliff Hawkins/Getty Images)

Team selection: The USGA selects the USA team, while The R&A chooses the GB&I side.

Series record: USA leads 38-9-1

Captains: Michael McCoy (USA); Stuart Wilson (GB&I)

Score: A full point is awarded for each win, while half a point is earned for matches that are all square after 18 holes. USA need 13 points to retain the Cup, while GB&I require 13½ points to regain it.

Championship format

Walker Cup

Members of Team USA pose for pictures with the American flag after defeating Team Great Britain & Ireland 14-12 at the Walker Cup at Seminole Golf Club on May 9, 2021 in Juno Beach, Florida. (Photo by Cliff Hawkins/Getty Images)

Friday, Sept. 1: Opening ceremony
Saturday, Sept. 2: Four morning foursomes followed by eight singles matches
Sunday 3 September: Four morning foursomes followed by 10 singles matches, followed by closing ceremony

What does the winning team receive?

Walker Cup 2017

Team USA captain John “Spider” Miller, Maverick McNealy, Will Zalatoris, Stewart Hagestad, Norman Xiong, Cameron Champ, (bottom L-R) Braden Thornberry, Doc Redman, Collin Morikawa, Scottie Scheffler and Doug Ghim pose with the Walker Cup Trophy after defeating Great Britain and Ireland team 19-7 at the 2017 Walker Cup at the Los Angeles Country Club in Los Angeles. (Photo: Robert Laberge/Getty Images)

Custody of the Walker Cup for two years.

The trophy is named after George Herbert Walker, who was president of the USGA in 1920 when the match was initiated. Walker is the grandfather and namesake of George HW Bush and the great-grandfather of George W. Bush, the 41st and 43rd Presidents of the United States, respectively.

TV, streaming information

Walker Cup 2017

Collin Morikawa and Scottie Scheffler during the final day of practice for the 2017 Walker Cup at the LA Country Club in Los Angeles, California. (Photo: David Cannon/R&A/R&A via Getty Images)

Saturday, Sept. 2
8:30am-2:00pm ET (Golf Channel)
Sunday, Sept. 3
8am-2pm ET (Golf Channel)

The story originally appeared on GolfWeek

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top